Back in Calgary

Despite my hopes to acquire a job in the mineral exploration industry, I have returned home to Calgary to save on rent and spend some time here. I’ve paid a visit to Bumpy’s and managed to chat with a few old friends there. The cappuccinos courtesy of Mike, were excellent. As I think I’ve got a job lined up in the downtown core (yes, that means this summer, I’m no longer employed in the coffee industry), I’ll probably be frequenting Bumpy’s a fair bit.

I’ve yet to visit Phil and Sebastian in the Farmer’s Market. I really really want to, but this past weekend didn’t work out. So I’m aiming for Friday before a barbeque I plan on going to in the area.

I’m on my last bit of Intelly’s Gaturiri Kenya Auction Lot… it was an excellent coffee that allowed me to get through a whole lot of early morning mapping at my 2nd year geology field school last week.

Big congrats to Heather Perry, 2007 USBC champion, and all of the other finalists. It was quite the competition from what I read!

7 Responses to “Back in Calgary”


  1. 1 Scott Anderson May 25, 2007 at 2:34 pm

    Hey good to see your doing well, i’ve gotten the finger our and got home equipment again and have been submerged back into the espresso scene again. and am back posting on my blog again! might have to follow suit and emmigrate over to this wordpress thing though, looks really good! Speak to you soon

    scott

  2. 2 Scott Anderson May 25, 2007 at 2:34 pm

    *meant gooten the finger out!

  3. 3 Scott Anderson May 25, 2007 at 2:35 pm

    *meant gotten the finger out!

  4. 4 Arthur Wynne June 4, 2007 at 3:24 pm

    hey peter,
    ill be making an appearance @ phil and sebastian this weekend so get there as we will be pulling black cat

  5. 5 Shaun Taylor June 7, 2007 at 6:52 am

    Hey Peter,

    Welcome back! If you need anything roasted up just let me know, I have a pretty decent assortment at the moment, just drop me a line to mention what suits your fancy – it’s on the house. Also, I think you might be interested in the BoP Nono Crespi I have coming in a couple of weeks, I’ll drop a 1/2lb on you when it comes in.

  6. 6 kelton June 17, 2007 at 3:34 pm

    Dude sweet blog. . .

    check out my new blog at
    vancouvercoffee.wordpress.com

    I’ll add you to my blog roll if your so interested.

  7. 7 Ron Sveen June 22, 2007 at 4:47 pm

    I met you at Bumpy’s last year. I was the one who spit the espresso all over the counter because I wasn’t expecting it to be so hot! You said to me that you brewed it cooler at home. You also said you were heading back to UBC soon.

    I live in Calgary. I am picking up a GS3 within a few weeks. I am looking for a reflective barista to help test-drive it. Let me know if you are interested, know someone who is.


Leave a Reply

On tap

49th Parallel El Salvador La Montaña
Excellent coffee for everyday drinking. Well expressed acidity and classic El Salvador profile.

Bulleit Bourbon
By far the best bourbon available in BC for the price. $35 for a bottle gets you the highest rye content bourbon on the market. Lots of spice and typical bourbon corn sweetness. Excellent on its own, but also makes a mean Old Fashioned. Better than Knob Creek in my books and pretty close to Woodford Reserve.

The Phonograph

Last Week's Top 10 peterthepiper's Profile Page

Recently Played

Head Count

  • 29,206 hits

