Grinder-less

I have made the trek back to Calgary for Christmas, sadly without my beloved hand grinder and french press. They were the only things I forgot to pack in my trekking backpack… sigh. This means I have to resort to using a blade grinder and my parents’ french press until I find other means or I just grin and bear it. So far it hasn’t been that bad. My pound of El Salvador Los Inmortales from Intelly hasn’t been completely brutalized by that whirling bar of stainless… both in the moka pot and the press. I’ll live I guess.

Maybe it’s time I try and acquire a grinder… a real one… for my home coffee ritual. The only problem is whether I want one that will last for a potential espresso machine, or if I settle for the lowest end of conical burr grinders and upgrade when or if I get an espresso machine. I think it will be the latter. I should be able to settle for something like the Bodum Antigua (grimace if need be, but I don’t want to spend that much… I have been going on a $20 backpacking grinder from GSI Outdoors for the past couple of years). Sigh…

3 Responses to “Grinder-less”


  1. 1 Jason December 15, 2006 at 3:03 pm

    Hey, I just bought one of those GSI grinders for my friend for christmas. Does it work alright? That Los Inmortales is oh so tasty… drop by the shop sometime while you’re here, i’ll pull you a shot, you can tell me what you think. That’ll be a change.

  2. 2 Peter December 15, 2006 at 3:05 pm

    Yeah, I actually would highly recommend the GSI grinder for anyone who wants an inexpensive hand grinder. It’s tough to use for espresso and that sort of use tends to wear out the axle and other hardware, but for any other grind it’s great!


  1. 1 Best Coffee Grinder For Home Australia Trackback on December 29, 2016 at 12:48 pm

Leave a Reply

On tap

49th Parallel El Salvador La Montaña
Excellent coffee for everyday drinking. Well expressed acidity and classic El Salvador profile.

Bulleit Bourbon
By far the best bourbon available in BC for the price. $35 for a bottle gets you the highest rye content bourbon on the market. Lots of spice and typical bourbon corn sweetness. Excellent on its own, but also makes a mean Old Fashioned. Better than Knob Creek in my books and pretty close to Woodford Reserve.

The Phonograph

Last Week's Top 10 peterthepiper's Profile Page

Recently Played

Head Count

  • 29,723 hits

