Busy as ever

It’s been a very busy few weeks at school. Everything all comes together for the end of term, translating to a big mess of assignments, projects and tests. Oh well.

The good thing about all of this though is that I have an excuse to drink more coffee. This student refuses to drink Folger’s to stay up. No no, I sip on the likes of the El Salvador CoE #2, or the recent farm release from Guatemala’s El Injerto. Or I bus it down to the Elysian Room and try their offerings.

The El Salvador CoE, Los Planes, farmed by Sergio Edmundo Ticas Reyes, was bought up by Small Axe. My beans were roasted by Intelligentsia three days before I pressed them. The remarkable thing about this lot was that it’s price was higher than the number one CoE. It was, I believe the first time it happened in the history of the auction.

So, the coffee. It was great. Los Planes is a pacamara, one of my favorite varietals, and showed it with big flavor, medium body and a decent acidity. (One of these days I will start writing my tasting notes down… sigh.) All I can say is that it was a great coffee, as it should have been.

In other news, many of you may have heard, but Vancouver is still dealing with a boil water advisory due to very high levels of turbidity in the regional water supply. This affects nearly a million people in the Vancouver area. It also affects my coffee. I don’t really have the money to purchase bottled water and the effort to pick up the cheaper stuff (in the reuseable bottles) is too much for my busy schedule, so I have to press my coffee with the tap water (after being boiled of course). It’s amazing how the suspended particles really do affect cup quality. It is intuitive of course, but still. I imagine shops of good repute here will be changing their filtration systems after all of this is done.

1 Response to “Busy as ever”


  1. 1 Paul November 25, 2006 at 8:00 am

    Hey Peter…glad to hear that you’re surviving with “turbidity CoE”. Now, if you were still here, you’d have to deal with the usual -20c weather. How I long for the rain…oh, and real coffee. Glad to see that you’ve switched to WordPress…aesthetics my friend. I may be due for a Vancouver visit sometime before the new year…I’ll drop you a line and hit you up for a coffee if I’m in town…

    Later…Paul


Leave a Reply

On tap

49th Parallel El Salvador La Montaña
Excellent coffee for everyday drinking. Well expressed acidity and classic El Salvador profile.

Bulleit Bourbon
By far the best bourbon available in BC for the price. $35 for a bottle gets you the highest rye content bourbon on the market. Lots of spice and typical bourbon corn sweetness. Excellent on its own, but also makes a mean Old Fashioned. Better than Knob Creek in my books and pretty close to Woodford Reserve.

The Phonograph

Last Week's Top 10 peterthepiper's Profile Page

Recently Played

Head Count

  • 29,723 hits

