Finished

Today I finished my nearly four month stint as a barista at Bumpy’s Cafe. This was really my first time working full time in a high-volume cafe and it seemed to work well. I’m pretty sure I could go head-to-head with a La Marzocco Swift and be pretty close in speed and consistency even though I would be fully manual. I head back to Vancouver in a week to start school and tentatively start another stretch as a barista too!

In other news, everyone should pick up Chad VanGaalen’s new album, Skelliconnection. It’s out on Flemish Eye in Canada and Sub Pop in the States. His music emerges from his Calgary basement studio on a wide variety of instruments, some homemade, and all played by himself. I cannot get enough of any of his releases. (I even got the special pre-order low run EP with hand drawn art by Chad himself.) Here’s his video for his opening track (self-animated too!)

4 Responses to “Finished”


  1. 1 Kevin McConnellhttp://homepage.mac.com/kevinmcc/blog/ August 26, 2006 at 10:07 pm

    Hey Peter. I’m going to miss your wicked Barista skills. Hope Vancovuer treats you well!

  2. 2 Shaun Taylor September 6, 2006 at 10:04 am

    C’mon Peter, give us an update.

  3. 3 Jonathan Howse September 7, 2006 at 5:27 am

    same here.

    I read you blog daily. Before I read the newspaper. Sometimes before breakfast.

  4. 4 Peter September 7, 2006 at 7:56 am

    You guys should really get a life… it’s just coffee.

    Alright, so I’m kidding. I’ll post after I shower and eat breakfast.


Leave a Reply

On tap

49th Parallel El Salvador La Montaña
Excellent coffee for everyday drinking. Well expressed acidity and classic El Salvador profile.

Bulleit Bourbon
By far the best bourbon available in BC for the price. $35 for a bottle gets you the highest rye content bourbon on the market. Lots of spice and typical bourbon corn sweetness. Excellent on its own, but also makes a mean Old Fashioned. Better than Knob Creek in my books and pretty close to Woodford Reserve.

The Phonograph

Last Week's Top 10 peterthepiper's Profile Page

Recently Played

Head Count

  • 29,403 hits

