Chemex

Controversy is brewing (hehe) over at coffeed as to the merit (or lack thereof) of the Chemex, a manual drip brewer enjoyed by many coffee lovers the world over. The discussion was sparked by Scott Rao, author of the Professional Barista’s Handbook, an in depth look at a lot of the science and ideas behind current coffee practices. His post of coffeed is entitled “Chemex: why you should hate it”. Harsh right?

Well, some good points were made and decent rebuttals were also written by bright lights in the industry like Counter Culture Coffee’s Peter Giuliano. As a daily drinker of Chemex coffee that I make at home, I was a little taken aback by the apparent discrediting of one of my favorite preparation methods. I think however, I can see through some of the politics in the posts and see that this is another discussion on taste. Some people are looking for a big bodied flavourful cup of coffee. Others enjoy a cup that is more subtle and aromatic, but lacks the body of say, a french press.

Klaus Thomsen writes:

…I’d have to say (and I am not trying to stir things up here guys and gals!) that I often found that Americans tend to be more focused on body in filter coffee whereas I find that Northern Europeans tend to focus more on the aromas. I don’t drink my Chemex coffee because I want body – quite the opposite. I like the clarity of the cup as a contrast to my usual french press…

I am inclined to agree. Maybe I just happen to get it right when I brew.

Do you guys like Chemex/pourover coffee?

4 Responses to “Chemex”


  1. 1 JL Zoeckler November 16, 2009 at 2:10 pm

    I must agree with you about the use of a chemex. French press is my preferred mode of prep, but I like a clean cup from time to time. I’m sure that a vacuum brewer would solve this intrigue, but I haven’t added that to my brewing equipment yet (christmas?). Unfortunately, those on the internet with the boldest claim often get all the attention (look as us bring him more attantion). Oh well, coffee will always be a matter of personal preference, similar to wine, and the “pros” will always tell some what is “right” and what is “wrong”. I’ll just keep roasting my own coffee and enjoying the multitude of brewing options that I have already.

  2. 2 Jonathan Bonchak November 18, 2009 at 10:08 am

    I like the Chemex. I was attracted to it at first because of the nostalgia and simplicity. After many attempts I’ve decided to go with finer grinds. Perhaps I’m over extracting but I don’t use a TDS meter at home. (I think that might amount to the ultimate in geekery which will become quite a turnoff to the wife!)

    All that to say, I like the body. And the coffee itself makes a difference. This is all just preference though. It’s like comparing Bowie to the Stones. Similar, completely different, altogether essential to listen to and soak up in order to appreciate where we find rock n roll today.

  3. 3 best under cabinet coffee maker July 28, 2013 at 3:55 pm

    An outstanding share! I have just forwarded this
    onto a co-worker who had been doing a little homework on this.
    And he in fact ordered me lunch simply because I found it for him.
    .. lol. So allow me to reword this…. Thank YOU
    for the meal!! But yeah, thanks for spending time to talk about
    this topic here on your website.

  4. 4 dollyteague.wordpress.com January 29, 2014 at 9:27 pm

    These might even be honey, smooth peanut butter, jam or marmalade, curry source,
    crab paste, tomato puree, liquidised fruits or liquidised liver; look into why you are doing this and why you are choosing these substances (see
    my ebooks. ) It is just the same as the difference
    between playing the guitar hero game and dreaming of being a rock God – and being a dreamer all your life.
    Place a frying pan or iron skillet over medium to high heat.


Leave a Reply

On tap

49th Parallel El Salvador La MontaƱa
Excellent coffee for everyday drinking. Well expressed acidity and classic El Salvador profile.

Bulleit Bourbon
By far the best bourbon available in BC for the price. $35 for a bottle gets you the highest rye content bourbon on the market. Lots of spice and typical bourbon corn sweetness. Excellent on its own, but also makes a mean Old Fashioned. Better than Knob Creek in my books and pretty close to Woodford Reserve.

The Phonograph

Last Week's Top 10 peterthepiper's Profile Page

Recently Played

Head Count

  • 25,238 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

