Seattle

Going down to Seattle for a couple of days to check out the scene there. I’ve only spent a few hours in Seattle before on a bus-airplane layover on my way to San Francisco. I plan to hit up the new Stumptown locations, my old faves Victrola and Vivace, hopefully Trabant and whatever else I might stumble upon. Sakae and I are planning on walking everywhere (well, within downtown, Pioneer Square area and Capitol Hill), so it should be interesting.  Lunch on Friday is going to be at Salumi (yay!!).Hope to pick up some good bottled beer too.I know this is last minute, but any suggestions out there for a good bottled beer store around downtown/Capitol Hill or anywhere else within a couple miles from Pike Place? I want to get to Bottleworks, but I think it might be too far for me to get out to.  

8 Responses to “Seattle”


  1. 1 Teddy January 5, 2008 at 9:46 pm

    Do post details of what you’ve found. We’ll be heading down there in the springtime, looking for good houses.

  2. 2 kelton January 8, 2008 at 8:06 am

    Dude I was just in Seattle and Yes I did check out all of what you listed and oh did I like them so.

    Cheers

  3. 3 seadevi January 10, 2008 at 1:03 pm

    Pike Street Beer & Wine at 518 East Pike (conveniently located next to the Pike Victrola) would be a great place for you. They have many varieties of hard to find beer.

  4. 4 poopertrooper January 11, 2008 at 5:10 pm

    Factual Correction:
    You have been in Seattle twice. Once on a stopover to San Francisco, and then another on your way to New York, where you proceeded to drag me from coffee shop to coffee shop, and got yourself hyperactive when you did 13 shots in one day. How the hell can you forget that numnugget?

  5. 5 ned crolly February 20, 2008 at 6:15 am

    hello, my name is ned and i’ve been working as a barista here in the netherlands for the last six years. i’m hoping to take my first ever field trip to the coffee scenes in the seattle/portland area and was just reading over your post about your visit. i thought perhaps you could give some recommendations on how to set up my tour. i have some of the following places in mind, but perhaps i am missing a whole bunch.
    -david schomer’s 3 stores
    -albini press
    -victrola
    -stumptown locations
    -synesso manufacturing location
    -zoka roasters
    -trabant

    could you enlighten me on the do’s and don’t’s for my future trip?
    thanks in advance,
    ned

  6. 6 Mike March 26, 2008 at 1:21 pm

    Peter, couldn’t find a link to mail you, but try Re-entry on the west side of Main at about 27th if you’d like a very nice coffee. They use David Schomer’s bean in a nice three-group Synesso machine. Very good latte art and that distinctive, long-lasting taste. It’s a bit small, but I like the 60’s space race theme. Excellent pastries!

  7. 7 Shaun April 15, 2008 at 5:23 pm

    Hey Peter,

    Haven’t dropped you a line in some time. Just thought I would let you know I put a post up on CG that shows some pours I did over the last couple of days into four ouncers, and oh yeah, a ridiculous parody video. ;-)

    Drop me a line to let me know how you are doing.

    http://www.coffeegeek.com/forums/espresso/latteart/364536

  8. 8 Sarah Wex November 25, 2008 at 10:13 pm

    Update your blog, Pete. Step away from the triaxial press and update your blog.


Leave a Reply

On tap

49th Parallel El Salvador La Montaña
Excellent coffee for everyday drinking. Well expressed acidity and classic El Salvador profile.

Bulleit Bourbon
By far the best bourbon available in BC for the price. $35 for a bottle gets you the highest rye content bourbon on the market. Lots of spice and typical bourbon corn sweetness. Excellent on its own, but also makes a mean Old Fashioned. Better than Knob Creek in my books and pretty close to Woodford Reserve.

The Phonograph

Last Week's Top 10 peterthepiper's Profile Page

Recently Played

Head Count

  • 25,203 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

